Forum Start - Register
Name Password Forgot your password?

Forum Start > Jobs, Careers, & Business > Office Politics > HOW DO YOU FEEL ABOUT WORKING WITH WHITE FOLKS
Author
Thread
GREGORYABUTLER

HOW DO YOU FEEL ABOUT WORKING WITH WHITE FOLKS
I work in a predominantly White trade (I'm a union carpenter in New York City), and working with mostly White guys can be challenging sometimes. I was wondering what experiences - good or bad - other folks have had working with White people?
5/17/2007 10:32 Link - Ip: Logged - Quote:
VickanS
Preferred Member

I understand your question but Ive learned that no matter where you go, you will have to interact with white people and other races. Personally I dont have a problem with people of other races unless they got a problem with me! Then I have a problem.

But I have worked around white people who did not care to be around blacks. I was getting paid more than them so I didnt care!
5/23/2007 08:01 Link - Ip: Logged - Quote:
ecjr23

It doesn't matter to me. For one, I have met some really cool white people over time and met some really ignorant ones too. Sometimes my white co-workers try to make me look inferior with their knowledge about our job functions, I just look at it as their way of kissing butt. Then I set them back on their heels when I show them my knowledge, makes them look stupid. This is only a couple of white people here at my job that acts like that, but I always put them in check very tactfully. For the most part, the rest of the white co-workers are alright to work with.

If I could have convinced more slaves that they were slaves, I could have freed thousands more. - Harriet Tubman
5/26/2007 10:00 Link - Ip: Logged - Quote:
tha_grouch

honestly, I'm really not a fan of white people in general, but if it's my livelihood, I'd be willing to put my personal views aside. But after quitting time...don't talk to me, cracka.
4/23/2008 18:48 Link - Ip: Logged - Quote:
thedrknghtno1